The 2016 Queensland Formula Ford Series

2016 is set to witness the most competitive Queensland Formula Ford 1600 series that the state has seen in many years. With 15 post historic cars slated for round one and another half dozen or so casual entrants joining in at selected rounds, there is sure to be torrid competition throughout the field. And maybe we�ll have some drivers of historic cars step up and join in as well.

One of the highlights this year will be the combining of Round Four with the Australian Formula Ford Series at the Shannon's Nationals Queensland Raceway round in July.

High profile karter Hunter McElrea, fresh from a successful campaign in the New Zealand South Island Formula Ford Championships, openly rates success in this coming season as the next step in his planned path to international professional racing. Also fresh from the NZ series is another former karter Mitch Maddren driving his Van Diemen that has a great history of winning in Qld. He, like our third new kart graduate Karla Curtis, will be very keen to show that Hunter is not the only karter aiming for big things.

After a couple of years of very little racing Tom Corbett is set to do the full series for the first time since his debut season in 2011. He has proven in the past that you don�t need karting experience to have winning speed. He like Harri Jones cut their competition teeth racing downhill mountain bikes. One thing that they will not be short of is bravery. Harri will be teamed with current champion Dylan Fahey, who will be sure to want to defend his title, this year driving a newly developed Van Diemen RF06.

Tom Corbett and Dylan Fahey at QR in 2015Tom Corbett and Dylan Fahey at QR in 2015

James Corbett, father of Tom, will be hoping to add to his tally of eight race wins from ten starts in last years series. His unique Spectrum 014 is possibly the most up to date Kent car in the country, and he is hoping it can help him overcome the advantages of youth. Another man sure to mix it with the young guns is Bob Power, father of Will, and probably the most experienced open wheel racer currently competing in Australia. Third in last year�s series, former-Formula 3 regular Bevan Carrick is another very experienced racer intent on keeping the young guns on their toes. Dave Boulton, last year�s series runner up, will be set to take on a bigger challenge this year and aiming to come away with another trophy.

Dave Boulton in 2015Dave Boulton

Tony Chapman is another that has come back to Formula Ford after a few years of driving other machinery. Tony has given his old RF92 some horsepower and intends to be with the front runners as he was with this car some ten years ago. New competitors Gary Goulding, and Chris Purvis, are trying Formula Ford after many years of also racing other types of cars. Paul Milevskiy is another newcomer switching over from hill climbing. His new mount is none other than the current Formula Ford 1600 Australian Championship title holding Mygale.

On top of this we have experienced guys like Ryan Campbell, Michael Treffane, Jimmy Bailey and Richard Lihou who will drop in and upset the apple cart for some rounds.

Michael Treffane at QR in 2015Michael Treffane at QR in 2015

Last year the Queensland Formula Ford Series had six rounds, with five different round winners and eight different race winners. This year will be even better.

  • Round 1 Morgan Park March 12/13

  • Round 2 Qld. Raceway April 30/May 1

  • Round 3 Morgan Park May 28/29

  • Round 4 Qld Raceway July 30/31

  • Round 5 Morgan Park Sept 3/4

  • Round 6 Morgan Park Nov 19/20